21 results   page 1 of 2   >
view sort by
Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Emigration & Immigration
Fatima's Great Outdoors Cover
Author: Ambreen Tariq
Release Date: March 30, 2021
An immigrant family embarks on their first camping trip in the Midwest in this lively picture book by Ambreen Tariq, outdoors activist and founder of @BrownPeopleCampingFatima Khazi is excited for the weekend. Her family is headed to a local state pa...
Fatima's Great Outdoors Cover
Coquí in the City Cover
Author: Nomar Perez
Release Date: March 16, 2021
A heartfelt picture book based on the author-illustrator's own experiences, about a boy who moves to the U.S. mainland from Puerto Rico and realizes that New York City might have more in common with San Juan than he initially thought.Miguel's pet fro...
Coquí in the City Cover
The Elephant in the Room Cover
Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Release Date: March 02, 2021
It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway around the world to Turkey, hoping to secure the immigration paperwork that would allow her to return to her family in the United States.The long separation is almost impossible for Sila to...
The Elephant in the Room Cover
Author: Daniel Nayeri | Narrator: Daniel Nayeri
Release Date: August 25, 2020
At the front of a middle school classroom in Oklahoma, a boy named Khosrou (whom everyone calls "Daniel") stands, trying to tell a story. His story. But no one believes a word he says. To them he is a dark-skinned, hairy-armed boy with a big butt who...
Author: Ruth Behar | Narrator: Rebecca Soler
Release Date: August 25, 2020
Pura Belpré Award Winner Ruth Behar's inspiring story of a young Jewish girl who escapes Poland to make a new life in Cuba, while she works to rescue the rest of her familyThe situation is getting dire for Jews in Poland on the eve of World Wa...
Heartbreak and hope exist together in this remarkable novel about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl. Omar and his younger brother, Hassan, have spent most of their lives...
Author: Remy Lai | Narrator: Remy Hii
Release Date: December 17, 2019
A poignant, laugh-out-loud middle-grade novel--adapted for audio--about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang!Recipient of ...
Author: Mike Lupica | Narrator: Anthony Rey Perez
Release Date: September 10, 2019
A timely and heartfelt follow-up to #1 New York Times bestseller Heat, about a young baseball prodigy and his immigrant family living in today's America.Twelve-year-old star Little League pitcher Nick Garcia has a dream. Several in fact. He dreams he...
Author: Adam Gidwitz and David Bowles | Narrator: Adam Gidwitz and January LaVoy
Release Date: April 16, 2019
Pura Belpré Honor-winning author David Bowles joins Newbery Honor-winning Adam Gidwitz as co-author of the newest Unicorn Rescue Society adventure, as the kids travel to the U.S.-Mexican border to help the legendary chupacabras.A new adventure...
Author: Geoff Rodkey | Narrator: Dani Martineck
Release Date: March 05, 2019
Imagine being forced to move to a new planet where YOU are the alien! From the creator of the Tapper Twins, New York Times bestselling author Geoff Rodkey delivers a topical, sci-fi middle-grade novel that proves friendship and laughter can transcend...
Author: Sarah Scheerger | Narrator: Full Cast
Release Date: February 26, 2019
If one small act can create a ripple across the universe . . . what happens when a whole group of kids join together and act? Told in eight perspectives, Operation Frog Effect is perfect for fans of Andrew Clements, Rob Buyea, and Sara...
Author: Kelly Yang | Narrator: Sunny Lu
Release Date: November 06, 2018
Winner of the Asian / Pacific American Award for Children's Literature!* "Many readers will recognize themselves or their neighbors in these pages." --Kirkus Reviews, starred reviewMia Tang has a lot of secrets.Number 1: She lives in a motel, not a b...