25 results <   page 2 of 3   >
view sort by
Juvenile Fiction - Social Themes - Emigration & Immigration
Author: Adam Gidwitz and David Bowles | Narrator: Adam Gidwitz and January LaVoy
Release Date: April 16, 2019
Pura Belpré Honor-winning author David Bowles joins Newbery Honor-winning Adam Gidwitz as co-author of the newest Unicorn Rescue Society adventure, as the kids travel to the U.S.-Mexican border to help the legendary chupacabras.A new adventure...
Author: Geoff Rodkey | Narrator: Dani Martineck
Release Date: March 05, 2019
Imagine being forced to move to a new planet where YOU are the alien! From the creator of the Tapper Twins, New York Times bestselling author Geoff Rodkey delivers a topical, sci-fi middle-grade novel that proves friendship and laughter can transcend...
Author: Sarah Scheerger | Narrator: Full Cast
Release Date: February 26, 2019
If one small act can create a ripple across the universe . . . what happens when a whole group of kids join together and act? Told in eight perspectives, Operation Frog Effect is perfect for fans of Andrew Clements, Rob Buyea, and Sara...
Author: Kelly Yang | Narrator: Sunny Lu
Release Date: November 06, 2018
Winner of the Asian / Pacific American Award for Children's Literature!* "Many readers will recognize themselves or their neighbors in these pages." --Kirkus Reviews, starred reviewMia Tang has a lot of secrets.Number 1: She lives in a motel, not a b...
Author: Vera Propp | Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Release Date: July 10, 2018
Henk was hidden on the farm when he was young and the Nazi soldiers came. But the war is over now, and Henk finds out that the people he lives with, the people he loves, are not his real family. He doesn't remember his real parents, and now a new lif...
Author: Veera Hiranandani | Narrator: Priya Ayyar
Release Date: March 06, 2018
In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal, and hopeful tale of India's partition, and of one girl's journey to find a new home in a divided countryIt's 1947, and India, newly independent of Bri...
Author: Paolo Bacigalupi | Narrator: Sunil Malhotra
Release Date: September 10, 2013
In this inventive, fast-paced novel, New York Times bestselling and Printz Award-winning author Paolo Bacigalupi takes on hard-hitting themes--from food safety to racism and immigration--and creates a zany, grand-slam adventure that will get kids thi...
Author: Julia Alvarez | Narrator: Ozzie Rodriguez and Olivia Preciado
Release Date: September 14, 2010
After Tyler's father is injured in a tractor accident, his family hires migrant Mexican workers to help save their Vermont farm from foreclosure. Tyler isn’ t sure what to make of these workers. Are they undocumented? And what about the three ...
Author: Julia Alvarez | Narrator: Ozzie Rodriguez and Olivia Preciado
Release Date: September 14, 2010
“Esta novela oportuna, arrancada de los titulares de los diarios, transmite un mensaje positivo acerca de la cooperación y la comprensión”.     —School Library Journal La familia de Mari se encuentra a ...
Willow Run Cover
Author: Patricia Reilly Giff | Narrator: Staci Snell
Release Date: September 13, 2005
1944Meggie Dillon’s life has been turned upside down by World War II. Her older brother Eddie enlisted and was shipped off to fight in Europe. And people say that anywhere else Grandpa would be turned in because he’s German, and people m...
Willow Run Cover
Author: Patricia Reilly Giff | Narrator: Blair Brown
Release Date: October 12, 2004
SEWING! NO ONE could hate it more than Dina Kirk. Endless tiny stitches, button holes, darts. Since she was tiny, she’s worked in her family’s dressmaking business, where the sewing machine is a cranky member of the family.When 13-year-ol...
Author: L.S. Matthews | Narrator: Jenna Lamia
Release Date: June 08, 2004
A compelling novel that touches upon the hardships that refugees face and their resilience in the most dire of situations, “celebrat[ing] the human spirit and inherent kindness” (School Library Journal).      My stor...