80 results   page 1 of 7   >
view sort by
Literary Collections - Essays
cover_9780593292259
Author: Rick Bragg
Release Date: October 27, 2020
From the best-selling, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of All Over but the Shoutin' and The Best Cook in the World, a collection of his irresistible columns from Southern Living and Garden & GunA collection of wide-ranging and endearingly personal ...
cover_9780593292259
cover_9780593394960
Author: Michiko Kakutani
Release Date: October 20, 2020
From breakout writer and peerless new voice Hanif Abdurraqib, the New York Times bestselling author of Go Ahead in the Rain: Notes to A Tribe Called Quest, comes a personal and introspective examination of black performance in America, in which race,...
cover_9780593394960
cover_9780593289259
Author: Jedidiah Jenkins
Release Date: September 15, 2020
The New York Times bestselling author of To Shake the Sleeping Self delivers a moving reflection on the hidden, sometimes difficult topics we must consider in order to live an authentic life—ego, love, family, work—for anyone seeking a co...
cover_9780593289259
cover_9780593210451
Author: Toni Jensen
Release Date: September 08, 2020
A powerful, poetic memoir about what it means to exist as an indigenous woman in America, told in snapshots of the author’s encounters with gun violence—for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Terese Marie Mailhot. Toni Jensen grew up around guns:...
cover_9780593210451
cover_9780593214251
Author: Louisa Thomas and Mary Pilon | Narrator: Sean Runnette, Steve West, Jim Frangione, Brittany Pressley, Kevin R. Free and Maggi-Meg Reed
Release Date: August 18, 2020
“It's easy to do anything in victory. It’s in defeat that a man reveals himself.” —Floyd Patterson   Twenty-two notable writers—including Bob Sullivan, Abby Ellin, Mike Pesca, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Louisa Hall, an...
cover_9780593214251
cover_9780593168745
Building from his acclaimed anthology Tales of Two Americas, beloved writer and editor John Freeman draws together a group of our greatest writers from around the world to help us see how the environmental crisis is hitting some of the most vulnerabl...
cover_9780593168745
cover_9780593346839
Author: Zadie Smith | Narrator: Zadie Smith
Release Date: July 28, 2020
Deeply personal and powerfully moving, a short and timely series of reflective essays by one of the most clear-sighted and essential writers of our timeWritten during the early months of lockdown, Intimations explores ideas and questions prompted by ...
cover_9780593346839
Author: Alice Wong | Narrator: Alice Wong and Alejandra Ospina
Release Date: June 30, 2020
One in five people in the United States lives with a disability. Some disabilities are visible, others less apparent—but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Now, just in time for the thirtieth anniversary of the Americans wit...
Author: Porochista Khakpour | Narrator: Porochista Khakpour
Release Date: May 19, 2020
*A Vintage Original*From the much-acclaimed novelist and essayist, a beautifully rendered, poignant collection of personal essays, chronicling immigrant and Iranian-American life in our contemporary moment.Novelist Porochista Khakpour's family moved ...
Author: John Jeremiah Sullivan | Narrator: John Jeremiah Sullivan
Release Date: May 19, 2020
Named A Best Book of 2011 by the New York Times, Time Magazine, the Boston Globe and Entertainment WeeklyA sharp-eyed, uniquely humane tour of America's cultural landscape―from high to low to lower than low―b...
Author: A. Kendra Greene | Narrator: A. Kendra Greene
Release Date: May 12, 2020
Mythic creatures, natural wonders, and the mysterious human impulse to collect are on beguiling display in this poetic tribute to the museums of an otherworldly island nation.Iceland is home to only 330,000 people (roughly the population of Lexington...
Author: George Saunders | Narrator: George Saunders
Release Date: April 14, 2020
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Man Booker Prize-winning novel Lincoln in the Bardo and the story collection Tenth of December, a 2013 National Book Award Finalist for Fiction. The breakout book from...