10 results   page 1 of 1  
view sort by
Performing Arts - Film - Direction & Production
Author: David Thomson | Narrator: David Thomson
Release Date: March 23, 2021
From the celebrated film critic and author of The Biographical Dictionary of Film--an essential work on the preeminent, indispensable movie directors and the ways in which their work has forged, and continues to forge, the landscape of modern film.Di...
Author: Tom Shone | Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Release Date: November 03, 2020
An in-depth look at, and written in collaboration with, the man considered to be the most profound, and commercially successful director at work today--a franchise unto himself--whose deeply personal million-dollar blockbuster movies (The Dark Knight...
Author: Sydney Ladensohn Stern | Narrator: Jonathan Davis
Release Date: March 31, 2020
Herman J. (1897–1953) and Joseph L. Mankiewicz (1909–1993) wrote, produced, and directed over 150 pictures. With Orson Welles, Herman wrote the screenplay for Citizen Kane and shared the picture’s only Academy Award. Joe e...
Author: Robert Iger | Narrator: Jim Frangione and Robert Iger
Release Date: September 23, 2019
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A memoir of leadership and success: The executive chairman of Disney, Time’s 2019 businessperson of the year, shares the ideas and values he embraced during his fifteen years as CEO while reinventin...
Author: Adam Nayman | Narrator: Rob Shapiro
Release Date: September 11, 2018
A playfully critical journey through the Coen brothers' filmographyFrom such cult hits as Raising Arizona (1987) and The Big Lebowski (1998) to major critical darlings Fargo (1996), No Country for Old Men (2007), and Inside Llewyn Davis (2013), Ethan...
Author: Nancy Schoenberger | Narrator: Kimberly Farr
Release Date: October 24, 2017
John Ford and John Wayne, two titans of classic film, made some of the most enduring movies of all time. The genre they defined—the Western—and the heroic archetype they built still matter today.   For more than twenty years John For...
Author: Eric Lax | Narrator: Arthur Morey
Release Date: October 03, 2017
A cinephile's dream: the chance to follow legendary director Woody Allen throughout the creation of a film--from inception to premiere--and to enjoy his reflections on some of the finest artists in the history of cinema. Eric Lax has been with Woody ...
Author: Paul Fischer | Narrator: Stephen Park
Release Date: February 03, 2015
Before becoming the world’s most notorious dictator, Kim Jong-Il ran North Korea’s Ministry for Propaganda and its film studios. Conceiving every movie made, he acted as producer and screenwriter. Despite this control, he was underwhelmed...
Author: Amy Wallace and Ed Catmull | Narrator: Peter Altschuler
Release Date: April 08, 2014
From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom P...
Author: Garry Marshall | Narrator: Garry Marshall
Release Date: April 24, 2012
With the television hits The Odd Couple, Happy Days, Laverne & Shirley, and Mork & Mindy, and movies like The Flamingo Kid, Beaches, Pretty Woman, and The Princess Diaries under his belt, Garry Marshall was among the most successful writers, ...