12 results   page 1 of 1  
view sort by
Poetry - Subjects & Themes - Death, Grief, Loss
Cry Back My Sea Cover
Author: Sarah Arvio
Release Date: August 10, 2021
Stunning poems of obsession, loss, and the desire for a renewed self, from the award-winning poet“I thought I had left behind the darkness / of the heart,” Arvio confesses in the poem “Small War.” The love Arvio traces in thes...
Cry Back My Sea Cover
Author: Adam Mansbach | Narrator: Adam Mansbach
Release Date: April 13, 2021
A brilliant, genre-defying work—both memoir and epic poem—about the struggle for wisdom, grace, and ritual in the face of unspeakable loss“A bruised and brave love letter from a brother right here to a brother now gone . ....
Author: Brooks Haxton | Narrator: Edoardo Ballerini
Release Date: March 23, 2021
In these marvelous pages, the award-winning poet turns a searching gaze toward the shared habitat and intertwined fates of man and animal. He looks back and forward in time, down at the soil, up at the stars, and deeply into his personal relationship...
In this urgent outpouring of American voices, our poets speak to us as they shelter in place, addressing our collective fear, grief, and hope from eloquent and diverse individual perspectives.**Featuring 107 poets, from A to Z—Julia Alvarez to ...
Author: Marge Piercy | Narrator: Marge Piercy
Release Date: September 29, 2020
A bountiful group of poems--direct, honest, and revelatory--that reflect on language, nature, old age, young love, Judaism, and our current politics, from one of our most read and admired poets"Words are my business," Marge Piercy begins her twentiet...
Author: Idra Novey, Garous Abdolmalekian and Ahmad Nadalizadeh | Narrator: Sean Rohani
Release Date: April 14, 2020
Finalist for the PEN Award for Poetry in Translation A vivid, "mesmerizing" (New York Times Magazine) portrait of life in the shadow of violence and loss, for readers of both English and PersianThe first selection of poems by renowned Irani...
Author: Carolyn Forché | Narrator: Carolyn Forché
Release Date: March 10, 2020
“An undisputed literary event.” —NPR“History—with its construction and its destruction—is at the heart of In the Lateness of the World. . . . In [it] one feels the poet cresting a wave—a new wave that wi...
Author: Michael Faudet | Narrator: Katharine Lee McEwan
Release Date: December 03, 2019
Michael Faudet's latest book delves deeper into the meaning of love, the intricacy of relationships, self-empowerment, seduction, and sex. Taking the listener on a whimsical and sometimes heartbreaking journey, where fantasy and reality collide. Cult...
Author: Kevin Young | Narrator: Kevin Young
Release Date: September 04, 2018
James Brown. John Brown's raid. Brown v. the Topeka Board of Ed. The prizewinning author of Blue Laws meditates on all things "brown" in this powerful new collection.“Vital and sophisticated ... sinks hooks into you that cannot be easily remove...
Author: Ulrich Baer and Rainer Maria Rilke | Narrator: Ulrich Baer and Rosanne Cash
Release Date: August 14, 2018
From the writer of the classic Letters to a Young Poet, reflections on grief and loss, collected and published here in one volume for the first time.“A great poet’s reflections on our greatest mystery.”—Billy Collins“A t...
The Inferno of Dante Cover
Author: Robert Pinsky and Dante Alighieri | Narrator: Frank Bidart, Seamus Heaney and Louise GlĂĽck
Release Date: July 17, 2014
Robert Pinsky's new verse translation of the Inferno makes it clear to the contemporary listener, as no other in English has done, why Dante is universally considered a poet of great power, intensity, and strength. This critically acclaimed translati...
The Inferno of Dante Cover
Author: John Updike | Narrator: Charles McGrath
Release Date: April 21, 2009
A stunning collection of poems that John Updike wrote during the last seven years of his life and put together only weeks before he died for this, his final book.The opening sequence, “Endpoint,” is made up of a series of connected poems ...