15 results   page 1 of 2   >
view sort by
Poetry - Subjects & Themes - Death, Grief, Loss
Time Is a Mother Cover
Author: Ocean Vuong |
Release Date: April 05, 2022
The highly anticipated collection of poems from the award-winning writer Ocean VuongHow else do we return to ourselves but to fold The page so it points to the good part   In this deeply intimate second poetry collection, Ocean Vuong searches fo...
Time Is a Mother Cover
Author: Sabrina Benaim | Narrator: Sabrina Benaim
Release Date: October 19, 2021
From one of the most-viewed spoken word poets of all time, a collection exploring loneliness, anxiety, and longing—and finding peace, and even joy, in unexpected places Sabrina Benaim, author of Depression & Other Magic Tricks, has connec...
Author: Kevin Young | Narrator: Kevin Young
Release Date: September 28, 2021
A book of loss, looking back, and what binds us to life, by a towering poetic talent, called "one of the poetry stars of his generation" (Los Angeles Times)."We sleep long, / if not sound," Kevin Young writes early on in this exquisite gathering of p...
Author: Sarah Arvio | Narrator: Sarah Arvio
Release Date: August 10, 2021
Stunning poems of obsession, loss, and the desire for a renewed self, from the award-winning poet“I thought I had left behind the darkness / of the heart,” Arvio confesses in the poem “Small War.” The love Arvio traces i...
Author: Adam Mansbach | Narrator: Adam Mansbach
Release Date: April 13, 2021
A brilliant, genre-defying work—both memoir and epic poem—about the struggle for wisdom, grace, and ritual in the face of unspeakable loss“A bruised and brave love letter from a brother right here to a brother now gone . ....
Author: Brooks Haxton | Narrator: Edoardo Ballerini
Release Date: March 23, 2021
In these marvelous pages, the award-winning poet turns a searching gaze toward the shared habitat and intertwined fates of man and animal. He looks back and forward in time, down at the soil, up at the stars, and deeply into his personal relationship...
In this urgent outpouring of American voices, our poets speak to us as they shelter in place, addressing our collective fear, grief, and hope from eloquent and diverse individual perspectives.**Featuring 107 poets, from A to Z—Julia Alvarez to ...
Author: Marge Piercy | Narrator: Marge Piercy
Release Date: September 29, 2020
A bountiful group of poems--direct, honest, and revelatory--that reflect on language, nature, old age, young love, Judaism, and our current politics, from one of our most read and admired poets"Words are my business," Marge Piercy begins her twentiet...
Author: Garous Abdolmalekian | Narrator: Sean Rohani
Release Date: April 14, 2020
Finalist for the PEN Award for Poetry in Translation A vivid, "mesmerizing" (New York Times Magazine) portrait of life in the shadow of violence and loss, for readers of both English and PersianThe first selection of poems by renowned Irani...
Author: Carolyn Forché | Narrator: Carolyn Forché
Release Date: March 10, 2020
FINALIST FOR THE 2021 PULITZER PRIZE FOR POETRY“An undisputed literary event.” —NPR“History—with its construction and its destruction—is at the heart of In the Lateness of the World. . . . In [it] one feels the poe...
Author: Michael Faudet | Narrator: Katharine Lee McEwan
Release Date: December 03, 2019
Michael Faudet's latest book delves deeper into the meaning of love, the intricacy of relationships, self-empowerment, seduction, and sex. Taking the listener on a whimsical and sometimes heartbreaking journey, where fantasy and reality collide. Cult...
Author: Kevin Young | Narrator: Kevin Young
Release Date: September 04, 2018
James Brown. John Brown's raid. Brown v. the Topeka Board of Ed. The prizewinning author of Blue Laws meditates on all things "brown" in this powerful new collection.“Vital and sophisticated ... sinks hooks into you that cannot be easily remove...