42 results <   page 3 of 4   >
view sort by
Psychology - Cognitive Psychology & Cognition
Author: Alan Jacobs | Narrator: P.J. Ochlan
Release Date: October 17, 2017
"Absolutely splendid . . . essential for understanding why there is so much bad thinking in political life right now." —David Brooks, New York TimesHow to Think is a contrarian treatise on why we’re not as good at thinking as we assu...
Author: Blake Bauer | Narrator: Blake Bauer
Release Date: March 21, 2017
In this life-changing audiobook Blake D Bauer explains why depression, addiction, physical illness, unfulfilling work and relationship problems are caused by years of hiding your true emotions, denying your life purpose and living in fear.Having alre...
Author: Steven Sloman and Philip Fernbach | Narrator: Mike Chamberlain
Release Date: March 14, 2017
“The Knowledge Illusion is filled with insights on how we should deal with our individual ignorance and collective wisdom.” —Steven PinkerWe all think we know more than we actually do.  Humans have built hugely complex societi...
Author: Kevin Davis | Narrator: Jim Frangione
Release Date: February 28, 2017
Called “the best kind of nonfiction” by Michael Connelly, this riveting new book combines true crime, brain science, and courtroom drama.In 1991, the police were called to East 72nd St. in Manhattan, where a woman's body had fallen from a...
Author: Jamie Holmes | Narrator: Jamie Holmes
Release Date: October 13, 2015
An illuminating look at the surprising upside of ambiguity—and how, properly harnessed, it can inspire learning, creativity, even empathy   Life today feels more overwhelming and chaotic than ever. Whether it’s a confounding work pro...
Author: Oliver Sacks | Narrator: Dan Woren
Release Date: April 28, 2015
When Oliver Sacks was twelve years old, a perceptive schoolmaster wrote in his report: “Sacks will go far, if he does not go too far.” It is now abundantly clear that Sacks has never stopped going. From its opening pages on his youthful o...
Author: Christine Carter, Ph.D. | Narrator: Christine Carter, Ph.D.
Release Date: January 20, 2015
Learn how to achieve more by doing less! Live in that zone you’ve glimpsed but can’t seem to hold on to—the sweet spot where you have the greatest strength, but also the greatest ease. Not long ago, Christine Carter, a happiness exp...
Author: Benedict Carey | Narrator: Steve Kramer
Release Date: September 09, 2014
In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives. From an early age, i...
The Organized Mind Cover
Author: Daniel J. Levitin | Narrator: Luke Daniels
Release Date: August 19, 2014
New York Times bestselling author and neuroscientist Daniel J. Levitin shifts his keen insights from your brain on music to your brain in a sea of details.The information age is drowning us with an unprecedented deluge of data. At the same time, we&#...
The Organized Mind Cover
Author: Daniel Kahneman | Narrator: Patrick Egan
Release Date: October 25, 2011
The guru to the gurus at last shares his knowledge with the rest of us. Nobel laureate Daniel Kahneman's seminal studies in behavioral psychology, behavioral economics, and happiness studies have influenced numerous other authors, including Steven Pi...
The Optimism Bias Cover
Author: Tali Sharot | Narrator: Susan Denaker
Release Date: June 14, 2011
From one of the most innovative neuroscientists at work today, an investigation into the bias toward optimism that exists on a neural level in our brains and plays a major part in determining how we live our lives.  Psychologists have long been ...
The Optimism Bias Cover
Author: David Eagleman | Narrator: David Eagleman
Release Date: May 31, 2011
If the conscious mind—the part you consider to be you—is just the tip of the iceberg, what is the rest doing?  In this sparkling and provocative new book, the renowned neuroscientist David Eagleman navigates the depths of the subcons...