36 results   page 1 of 3   >
view sort by
Science - Philosophy & Social Aspects
The Art of More Cover
Author: Michael Brooks |
Release Date: January 18, 2022
For readers of Steven Strogatz’s Infinite Powers and The Joy of x, here is an illuminating exploration of the ways in which mathematics—and the people who have mastered its inherent power through the ages—has shaped our world. ...
$17.50
ISBN: 9780593456125
Unabridged Download
The Art of More Cover
Author: Steven Pinker | Narrator: Arthur Morey
Release Date: September 28, 2021
Can reading a book make you more rational? Can it help us understand why there is so much irrationality in the world? Steven Pinker, author of  Enlightenment Now (Bill Gates’s "new favorite book of all time”) answers all the que...
Author: Karl Deisseroth | Narrator: Karen Chilton, Karl Deisseroth and Natalie Naudus
Release Date: June 15, 2021
A groundbreaking tour of the human mind that illuminates the biological nature of our inner worlds and emotions, through gripping, moving—and, at times, harrowing—clinical stories“Poetic, mind-stretching, and through it al...
Author: Vaclav Smil | Narrator: Ben Prendergast
Release Date: May 04, 2021
"There is no author whose books I look forward to more than Vaclav Smil."--Bill GatesAn essential guide to understanding how numbers reveal the true state of our world--exploring a wide range of topics including energy, the environment, technology, t...
Author: Chiara Marletto | Narrator: Katharine Lee McEwan
Release Date: May 04, 2021
A luminous guide to how the radical new science of counterfactuals can reveal that the scope of the universe is greater, and more beautiful, than we ever imaginedThere is a vast class of things that science has so far almost entirely neglected. They ...
Author: Suzanne Simard | Narrator: Suzanne Simard
Release Date: May 04, 2021
NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • From the world's leading forest ecologist who forever changed how people view trees and their connections to one another and to other living things in the forest—a moving, deeply personal journey of discoverySu...
Author: David Sloan Wilson | Narrator: René Ruiz
Release Date: March 30, 2021
With stories that entertain as much as they inform, renowned evolutionist David Sloan Wilson outlines the basic principles of evolution and shows how, when properly understood, they can illuminate the length and breadth of creation, from the ori...
Author: Dreux Richard | Narrator: Dreux Richard
Release Date: February 23, 2021
A thoughtful, illuminating exploration of modern Japanese politics and culture through the eyes of an investigative reporter  Dreux Richard presents post-Fukushima Japan in three illustrative parts. He follows members of Japan’s Nigerian c...
Author: David Eagleman | Narrator: David Eagleman
Release Date: August 25, 2020
"Eagleman renders the secrets of the brain’s adaptability into a truly compelling page-turner.” —Khaled Hosseini, author of The Kite Runner“Livewired reads wonderfully like what a book would be if it were written by ...
Author: Brian Greene | Narrator: Brian Greene
Release Date: March 10, 2020
NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • A captivating exploration of deep time and humanity's search for purpose from the world-renowned physicist and best-selling author of The Elegant Universe "Few humans share Greene’s mastery of both the lat...
Author: Sasha Sagan | Narrator: Sasha Sagan
Release Date: October 22, 2019
"A charming book, ringing with the joy of existence." -- Richard Dawkins"This lyrical exploration of how we can find beauty in the natural world comes from the daughter of Carl Sagan . . . A wonderful gift for your favorite reader." --Good Housekeepi...
Author: Deepak Chopra, M.D. | Narrator: Deepak Chopra, M.D.
Release Date: October 01, 2019
Is it possible to venture beyond daily living and experience heightened states of awareness? Deepak Chopra says that higher consciousness is available here and now. “Metahuman helps us harvest peak experiences so we can see our trut...