19 results   page 1 of 2   >
view sort by
Young Adult Fiction - People & Places - United States - African American
Fire from the Rock Cover
Author: Sharon Draper | Narrator: Lisa Renee Pitts
Release Date: November 10, 2020
Sylvia is shocked and confused when she is asked to be one of the first black students to attend Central High School, which is scheduled to be integrated in the fall of 1957, whether people like it or not. Before Sylvia makes her final decision, smol...
Fire from the Rock Cover
Author: Nic Stone | Narrator: Dion Graham and Nic Stone
Release Date: September 29, 2020
The stunning sequel to the #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin. Incarcerated teen Quan writes letters to Justyce about his experiences in the American juvenile justice system. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Angie Thomas.In the highly ant...
Author: Candice Iloh | Narrator: Candice Iloh
Release Date: September 22, 2020
Longlisted for the National Book Award.When Ada leaves home for her freshman year at a Historically Black College, it’s the first time she’s ever been so far from her family—and the first time that she’s been able to make...
Author: Kim Johnson | Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Release Date: July 28, 2020
"Incredible and searing." --Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear MartinThe Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.Every week, se...
From the award-winning author of Monster, this collection of powerful and poignant stories about 145th Street—an unforgettable block in the heart of Harlem—celebrates African-American life in all of its glory. “Myers is a maste...
Author: Mildred D. Taylor | Narrator: Allyson Johnson
Release Date: January 07, 2020
The saga of the Logan family--made famous in the Newbery Medal-winning Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry--concludes in a long-awaited and deeply fulfilling story.In her tenth book, Mildred Taylor completes her sweeping saga about the Logan family of Missi...
Author: Nic Stone | Narrator: Nic Stone
Release Date: October 15, 2019
From the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin--which Angie Thomas, the bestselling author of The Hate U Give, called "a must read"--comes a pitch-perfect romance that examines class, privilege, and how a stroke of good luck can chan...
Author: Junauda Petrus | Narrator: Bahni Turpin, JD Jackson and Junauda Petrus
Release Date: September 17, 2019
A Coretta Scott King Honor BookTold in two distinct and irresistible voices, Junauda Petrus's bold and lyrical debut is the story of two black girls from very different backgrounds finding love and happiness in a world that seems determined to deny t...
Author: Chris Crowe | Narrator: Victor Bevine
Release Date: January 08, 2019
Winner of the 2003 International Reading Association Award for Young Adult Novel. This gripping story is based on the true events of the murder of Emmett Till, one of the nation's most notorious crimes that helped spark the C...
Author: Nic Stone | Narrator: Dion Graham
Release Date: October 17, 2017
"Powerful, wrenching.” –JOHN GREEN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down"Raw and gripping." –JASON REYNOLDS, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys"A must-read!” &nd...
Author: Jason Reynolds | Narrator: Guy Lockard
Release Date: August 01, 2017
"Everyone gets mad at hustlers, especially if you're on the victim side of the hustle. And Miles knew hustling was in his veins."Miles Morales is just your average teenager. Dinner every Sunday with his parents, chilling out playing old-school video ...
Author: Randi Pink | Narrator: Adenrele Ojo
Release Date: January 03, 2017
LaToya Williams lives in Montgomery, Alabama, and attends a mostly white high school. It seems as if her only friend is her older brother, Alex. Toya doesn’t know where she fits in, but after a run-in with another student, she wonders if life w...