6 results   page 1 of 1  
view sort by
Young Adult Nonfiction - People & Places - United States - African American & Black
Author: Luvvie Ajayi Jones | Narrator: Luvvie Ajayi Jones
Release Date: May 17, 2022
In this young readers edition of her New York Times bestseller Professional Troublemaker, Luvvie Ajayi Jones uses her honesty and humor to inspire teens to be their bravest, boldest, truest selves, in order to create a world they would be proud to l...
Author: Erica Martin | Narrator: Erica Martin
Release Date: February 01, 2022
A powerful, impactful, eye-opening journey that explores through the Civil Rights Movement in 1950s-1960s America in spare and evocative verse.In stunning verse, Erica Martin's debut poetry collection walks readers through the Civil Rights Movement&m...
Author: Kekla Magoon | Narrator: Tyla Collier
Release Date: November 23, 2021
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account of the Black Panthers—as militant revolutionaries and as human rights advocates working to defend and protect their community.In this comprehensive, inspiring, and all-too-rel...
Author: Chris Crowe | Narrator: Victor Bevine
Release Date: January 22, 2019
Revised and updated with new information, this Jane Adams award winner is an in-depth examination of the Emmett Till murder case, a catalyst of the Civil Rights Movement.  The kidnapping and violent murder of fourteen-year-old Emmett Till in 195...
Author: Steve Sheinkin | Narrator: Dominic Hoffman
Release Date: January 21, 2014
An astonishing civil rights story from Newbery Honor winner and National Book Award finalist Steve Sheinkin. On July 17, 1944, a massive explosion rocked the segregated Navy base at Port Chicago, California, killing more than 300 sailors who wer...
Author: Wes Moore | Narrator: Wes Moore
Release Date: June 11, 2013
For fans of The Wire and Unbroken comes a story of two fatherless boys from Baltimore, both named Wes Moore. One is in prison, serving a life sentence for murder. The other is a Rhodes Scholar, an army veteran, and an author whose book is being turne...