677 results   page 1 of 57   >
view sort by
Social Science
cover_9780593287637
Author: Abraham Riesman
Release Date: September 29, 2020
The definitive, revelatory biography of Marvel Comics creator Stan Lee, an artist and entrepreneur who reshaped global pop culture--at a steep personal cost.Stan Lee--born Stanley Martin Lieber in 1922--is one of the most beloved and influential ente...
cover_9780593287637
cover_9780593288832
Author: Noreena Hertz
Release Date: September 29, 2020
From an economist hailed as "one of the world's leading thinkers," (The Observer) comes an eye-opening vision for how to address the growing loneliness crisis, the most urgent social issue of our time.Disconnection is the defining trait of the twenty...
cover_9780593288832
cover_9780593289075
Author: Jennifer Taub
Release Date: September 29, 2020
How ordinary Americans suffer when the rich and powerful break the law to get richer and more powerful--and how we can stop it.There is an elite crime spree happening in America, and the privileged perps are getting away with it. Selling loose cigare...
cover_9780593289075
cover_9780593288962
Author: David Nasaw
Release Date: September 15, 2020
From bestselling author David Nasaw, a sweeping new history of the one million refugees left behind in Germany after WWIIIn May of 1945, German forces surrendered to the Allied powers, effectively putting an end to World War II in Europe. But the aft...
cover_9780593288962
cover_9780593290118
Author: Matthew Yglesias
Release Date: September 15, 2020
A bold case for massive population growth in the name of national greatness—from Vox co-founder and host of “The Weeds” podcast Matt Yglesias.   America is in decline. Fewer children are born each year due to financial pressur...
cover_9780593290118
cover_9780593339602
Author: Sinan Aral
Release Date: September 15, 2020
Social media connected the world--and gave rise to fake news and increasing polarization. Now a leading researcher at MIT draws on 20 years of research to show how these trends threaten our political, economic, and emotional health in this eye-openin...
cover_9780593339602
Author: Eddie S. Glaude Jr. | Narrator: Eddie S. Glaude Jr.
Release Date: September 14, 2020
James Baldwin grew disillusioned by the failure of the civil rights movement to force America to confront its lies about race. In the era of Trump, what can we learn from his struggle? “Searing, provocative, and ultimately hopeful . . ....
Author: Priya Basil | Narrator: Priya Basil
Release Date: September 14, 2020
A thought-provoking meditation on food, family, identity, immigration, and, most of all, hospitality--at the table and beyond--that's part food memoir, part appeal for more authentic decency in our daily worlds, and in the world at large.Be My Guest ...
Author: Wes Moore and Erica L. Green | Narrator: Wes Moore
Release Date: September 14, 2020
“An illuminating portrait of Baltimore in the aftermath of the April 2015 death of Freddie Gray . . . Readers will be enthralled by this propulsive account.”—Publishers Weekly From the New York Times bestselling autho...
cover_9780593148334
Author: Michael Morris
Release Date: September 08, 2020
A renowned Columbia Business School professor and cultural psychologist explains the deep roots of tribalism--and how great leaders harness our tribal psychology to move people and change cultures for the better.We've all heard pundits bemoan the ris...
cover_9780593148334
cover_9780593149980
Author: Lee Vinsel and Andrew L. Russell
Release Date: September 08, 2020
Innovation is the hottest buzzword in business. But what if its benefits have been exaggerated, and our obsession with finding the next big thing has distracted us from the work that matters most? It’s hard to avoi...
cover_9780593149980
cover_9780593210451
Author: Toni Jensen
Release Date: September 08, 2020
A powerful, poetic memoir about what it means to exist as an indigenous woman in America, told in snapshots of the author’s encounters with gun violence—for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Terese Marie Mailhot. Toni Jensen grew up around guns:...
cover_9780593210451