121 results   page 1 of 11   >
view sort by
True Crime
cover_9781984885791
Author: Rich Cohen
Release Date: June 04, 2019
Was he New York City's last pirate...or its first gangster. This is the true story of the bloodthirsty underworld legend who conquered Manhattan--for fans of Gangs of New York and Boardwalk Empire.

Albert Hicks was a feared, shadowy figure of the New York underworld in the mid-1800s.
cover_9781984885791
cover_9781984841841
Author: Gordon Thomas and Greg Lewis
Release Date: April 23, 2019
An enthralling work of popular history that vividly resurrects the web of everyday Germans who resisted Nazi rule

Nazi Germany is remembered as a nation of willing fanatics. But beneath the surface, countless ordinary, everyday Germans actively resisted Hitler.
cover_9781984841841
cover_9781984840110
Author: Claire Harman | Narrator: Andy Secombe
Release Date: March 26, 2019
From the acclaimed biographer--the fascinating, little-known story of a Victorian-era murder that rocked literary London, leading Charles Dickens, William Thackeray, and Queen Victoria herself to wonder. Can a novel kill.

In May 1840, Lord William Russell, well known in London's highest social circles, was found with his throat cut.
cover_9781984840110
cover_9780525595762
Author: Preet Bharara | Narrator: Preet Bharara
Release Date: March 19, 2019
By the one-time federal prosecutor for the Southern District of New York, an important overview of the way our justice system works, and why the rule of law is essential to our society. Using case histories, personal experiences and his own inviting writing and teaching style, Preet Bharara shows the thought process we need to best achieve truth and justice in our daily lives and within our society.
cover_9780525595762
cover_9781984885159
Author: Evan Ratliff
Release Date: March 05, 2019
The incredible true story of the decade-long quest to bring down Paul Le Roux—the creator of a frighteningly powerful Internet-enabled cartel who merged the ruthlessness of a drug lord with the technological savvy of a Silicon Valley entrepreneur

It all started as an online prescription drug network, supplying hundreds of millions of dollars’ worth of painkillers to American customers.
cover_9781984885159
cover_9781984841131
Author: Patrick Radden Keefe
Release Date: February 26, 2019
"Meticulously reported, exquisitely written, and grippingly told, Say Nothing is a work of revelation."
- David Grann, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Killers of the Flower Moon

"[This] gripping account of the Troubles is equal parts true-crime, history, and tragedy .
cover_9781984841131
cover_9780525642336
Author: Edward Humes | Narrator: Rebecca Lowman
Release Date: January 08, 2019
Was a monstrous killer brought to justice or an innocent mother condemned.

On an April night in 1989, Jo Ann Parks survived a house fire that claimed the lives of her three small children. Though the fire at first seemed a tragic accident, investigators soon reported finding evidence proving that Parks had sabotaged wiring, set several fires herself, and even barricade her four-year-old son inside a closet to prevent his escape.
cover_9780525642336
cover_9780525633419
Author: Bill Buford | Narrator: Bill Buford
Release Date: October 23, 2018
They have names like Barmy Bernie, Daft Donald, and Steamin' Sammy. They like lager (in huge quantities), the Queen, football clubs (especially Manchester United), and themselves. Their dislike encompasses the rest of the known universe, and England's soccer thugs express it in ways that range from mere vandalism to riots that terrorize entire cities.
cover_9780525633419
cover_9780525643005
Author: Fox Butterfield | Narrator: Paul Michael
Release Date: October 09, 2018
From the Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times journalist. a pathbreaking examination of our huge crime and incarceration problem that looks at the influence of the family--specifically one Oregon family with a generations-long legacy of lawlessness.
cover_9780525643005
cover_9780525643807
Author: Ben Macintyre | Narrator: John Lee
Release Date: September 18, 2018
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
“The best true spy story I have ever read.”JOHN LE CARRÉ

The celebrated author of Double Cross and Rogue Heroes returns with his greatest spy story yet, a thrilling Americans-era tale of Oleg Gordievsky, the Russian whose secret work helped hasten the end of the Cold War.
cover_9780525643807
cover_9780525639916
Author: Charles Glass | Narrator: Allan Corduner
Release Date: September 11, 2018
“Highly detailed and fast-paced, Charles Glass’s They Fought Alone is a must-read for those whose passion is the Resistance literature of World War II.” —Alan Furst, author of A Hero of France

From the bestselling author of Americans in Paris and The Deserters, the astounding story of Britain's Special Operations Executive, one of World War II's most important secret fighting forces

As far as the public knew, Britain's Special Operations Executive (SOE) did not exist.
cover_9780525639916
cover_9780698402195
Author: Mark Jacobson | Narrator: Ray Porter
Release Date: September 04, 2018
We are living in a time of unprecedented distrust in America. Faith in the government is at an all-time low, and political groups on both sides of the aisle are able to tout preposterous conspiracy theories as gospel, without much opposition. “Fake news” is the order of the day.
cover_9780698402195