Audiobooks About Immigrants and Refugees

Share stories about the immigrant experience to spread compassion, teach understanding, and promote diversity in children’s and adult literature. For more diverse listens for kids and teens, visit www.heardiversity.com and www.readproudlistenproud.com.

Collection
59 results   page 1 of 5   >
view sort by
cover_9781984832238
Author: Maria Kuznetsova | Narrator: Anna Kyra Hooton
Release Date: March 19, 2019
An “irresistible” (Anthony Marra) debut about a Russian American girl’s bumpy path to adulthood “The voice is so, so sharp and so funny that I am just like tickled—tickled!—to be reading it.”—Emma ...
cover_9781984832238
cover_9780525499473
Author: Reihan Salam | Narrator: Reihan Salam
Release Date: September 25, 2018
“A clarion call to everyone who cares about the American nation and every person who calls it home.” —J.D. VANCE, author of Hillbilly ElegyWhy would a son of immigrants call for tighter restrictions on immigration? For too long, lib...
cover_9780525499473
cover_9780735210080
Author: Daisy Khan | Narrator: Daisy Khan
Release Date: April 24, 2018
The dramatic, spiritual memoir of a prominent Muslim woman working to empower women and girls across the world—for readers of Malala Yousafzai and Azar Nafisi.Raised in a progressive Muslim family in the shadows of the Himalayan mountains, wher...
cover_9780735210080
cover_9780525526292
Author: Elizabeth Weil and Clemantine Wamariya | Narrator: Robin Miles
Release Date: April 24, 2018
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER“The plot provided by the universe was filled with starvation, war and rape. I would not—could not—live in that tale.”   Clemantine Wamariya was six years old when her mother and father began to...
cover_9780525526292
cover_9780525494539
Author: Alex Wagner | Narrator: Alex Wagner
Release Date: April 17, 2018
An acclaimed journalist travels the globe to solve the mystery of her ancestry, confronting the question at the heart of the American experience of immigration, race, and identity: Who are my people?“A thoughtful, beautiful meditation on what m...
cover_9780525494539
cover_9780525531883
Author: Rebecca Erbelding | Narrator: Hillary Huber
Release Date: April 10, 2018
WINNER OF THE NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARDFor more than a decade, a harsh Congressional immigration policy kept most Jewish refugees out of America, even as Hitler and the Nazis closed in. In 1944, the United States finally acted. That year, Franklin D...
cover_9780525531883
cover_9780525529552
Author: Elaine Castillo | Narrator: Donnabella Mortel
Release Date: April 03, 2018
Named one of the best books of 2018 by NPR, Real Simple, Lit Hub, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The New York Post, Kirkus Reviews, and The New York Public Library "A saga rich with origin myths, national and personal . . . Castillo ...
cover_9780525529552
cover_9780525526506
Author: Lauren Hilgers | Narrator: Angela Lin
Release Date: March 20, 2018
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF 2018 BYNew York Times Critics • Wall Street Journal • Kirkus Reviews Christian Science Monitor • San Francisco ChronicleFinalist for the PEN Jacqueline Bograd Weld Biography AwardShortlisted for the ...
cover_9780525526506
cover_9780525524557
Author: Xhenet Aliu | Narrator: Lauren Fortgang and Th├ęr├Ęse Plummer
Release Date: January 23, 2018
“A fierce, big-hearted, unflinching debut”* novel about mothers and daughters, haves and have-nots, and the stark realities behind the American Dream *Celeste Ng, author of Little Fires EverywhereNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY...
cover_9780525524557
cover_9780525498384
Author: Maya Jasanoff | Narrator: Laurel Lekfow
Release Date: November 07, 2017
“Enlightening, compassionate, superb” —John Le CarréWinner of the 2018 Cundhill History PrizeA New York Times Book Review Notable Book of 2017One of the New York Times 100 Notable Books of 2017A visionary explo...
cover_9780525498384
cover_9780525498025
Author: Daniel Alarc├│n | Narrator: David DeSantos
Release Date: October 31, 2017
LONGLISTED for the 2017 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTIONAn urgent, essential collection of stories about immigration, broken dreams, Los Angeles gang members, Latin American families, and other tales of high stakes journeys, from the award-winning aut...
cover_9780525498025
cover_9780525523994
Author: Khizr Khan | Narrator: Khizr Khan
Release Date: October 24, 2017
This inspiring memoir by the Muslim American Gold Star father and captivating DNC speaker is the story of one family’s pursuit of the American dream. NAMED ONE OF THE FIVE BEST MEMOIRS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST   “Moving . ....
cover_9780525523994