Audiobooks About Immigrants and Refugees

Share stories about the immigrant experience to spread compassion, teach understanding, and promote diversity in children’s and adult literature. For more diverse listens for kids and teens, visit www.heardiversity.com and www.readproudlistenproud.com.

Collection
58 results   page 1 of 5   >
view sort by
cover_9780525499473
Author: Reihan Salam | Narrator: Reihan Salam
Release Date: September 25, 2018
“A clarion call to everyone who cares about the American nation and
every person who calls it home.” —J.D. VANCE, author of Hillbilly Elegy

Why would a son of immigrants call for tighter restrictions on immigration.
cover_9780525499473
cover_9780735210080
Author: Daisy Khan | Narrator: Daisy Khan
Release Date: April 24, 2018
The dramatic, spiritual memoir of a prominent Muslim woman working to empower women and girls across the world—for readers of Malala Yousafzai and Azar Nafisi.

Raised in a progressive Muslim family in the shadows of the Himalayan mountains, where she attended a Catholic girls’ school, Daisy experienced culture shock when her family sent her to the States to attend high school in a mostly Jewish Long Island suburb.
cover_9780735210080
cover_9780525526292
Author: Elizabeth Weil and Clemantine Wamariya | Narrator: Robin Miles
Release Date: April 24, 2018
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“The plot provided by the universe was filled with starvation, war and rape. I would not—could not—live in that tale.”

 
Clemantine Wamariya was six years old when her mother and father began to speak in whispers, when neighbors began to disappear, and when she heard the loud, ugly sounds her brother said were thunder.
cover_9780525526292
cover_9780525494539
Author: Alex Wagner | Narrator: Alex Wagner
Release Date: April 17, 2018
An acclaimed journalist travels the globe to solve the mystery of her ancestry, confronting the question at the heart of the American experience of immigration, race, and identity. Who are my people.

“A thoughtful, beautiful meditation on what makes us who we are .
cover_9780525494539
cover_9780525531883
Author: Rebecca Erbelding | Narrator: Hillary Huber
Release Date: April 10, 2018
America has long been criticized for refusing to give harbor to the Jews of Europe as Hitler and the Nazis closed in. Now a lauded Holocaust historian tells the extraordinary story of the War Refugee Board, President Franklin D. Roosevelt's little-known effort late in the war to save the Jews who remained.
cover_9780525531883
cover_9780525529552
Author: Elaine Castillo | Narrator: Donnabella Mortel
Release Date: April 03, 2018
"A saga rich with origin myths, national and personal . . . Castillo is part of a younger generation of American writers instilling literature with a layered sense of identity." --Vogue

How many lives fit in a lifetime.


When Hero De Vera arrives in America--haunted by the political upheaval in the Philippines and disowned by her parents--she's already on her third.
cover_9780525529552
cover_9780525526506
Author: Lauren Hilgers | Narrator: Angela Lin
Release Date: March 20, 2018
A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE

The deeply reported story of one indelible family transplanted from rural China to New York City, forging a life between two worlds

 
In 2014, in a snow-covered house in Flushing, Queens, a village revolutionary from Southern China considered his options.
cover_9780525526506
cover_9780525524557
Author: Xhenet Aliu | Narrator: Lauren Fortgang and Therese Plummer
Release Date: January 23, 2018
“A fierce, big-hearted, unflinching debut”. novel about mothers and daughters, haves and have-nots, and the stark realities behind the American Dream

.Celeste Ng, author of Little Fires Everywhere

A waitress at the Betsy Ross Diner, Elsie hopes her nickel-and-dime tips will add up to a new life.
cover_9780525524557
cover_9780525498384
Author: Maya Jasanoff | Narrator: Laurel Lekfow
Release Date: November 07, 2017
“Enlightening, compassionate, superb” —John Le Carré

Winner of the 2018 Cundhill History Prize

New York Times Book Review Notable Book of 2017

One of the New York Times 100 Notable Books of 2017

A visionary exploration of the life and times of Joseph Conrad, his turbulent age of globalization and our own, from one of the most exciting young historians writing today

Migration, terrorism, the tensions between global capitalism and nationalism, and a communications revolution.
cover_9780525498384
cover_9780525498025
Author: Daniel Alarc├│n | Narrator: David DeSantos
Release Date: October 31, 2017
LONGLISTED for the 2017 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTION

An urgent, essential collection of stories about immigration, broken dreams, Los Angeles gang members, Latin American families, and other tales of high stakes journeys, from the award-winning author of War by Candlelight and At Night We Walk in Circles.
cover_9780525498025
cover_9780525523994
Author: Khizr Khan | Narrator: Khizr Khan
Release Date: October 24, 2017
This inspiring memoir by the Muslim American Gold Star father and captivating DNC speaker is the story of one family’s pursuit of the American dream.

NAMED ONE OF THE FIVE BEST MEMOIRS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST
 
“Moving .
cover_9780525523994
cover_9780525500957
Author: Katherine Applegate | Narrator: Nancy Linari
Release Date: September 26, 2017
Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .

Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"―people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "wishtree" watches over the neighborhood.
cover_9780525500957