Celebrate Black History Month with Audiobooks

Celebrate Black History Month with these powerful listens.

46 results   page 1 of 4   >
view sort by
Author: Barack Obama | Narrator: Barack Obama
Grades: N/A
Release Date: October 05, 2021
NOW AVAILABLE UNABRIDGED ON AUDIO FOR THE FIRST TIME#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • ONE OF ESSENCE’S 50 MOST IMPACTFUL BLACK BOOKS OF THE PAST 50 YEARS In this iconic memoir of his early days, Barack Obama “guides us straigh...
Author: Anissa Gray | Narrator: Bahni Turpin, Dominic Hoffman, Adenrele Ojo and January LaVoy
Grades: N/A
Release Date: February 19, 2019
“If you enjoyed An American Marriage by Tayari Jones, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls...an absorbing commentary on love, family and forgiveness.”—The Washington Post  “A fast-paced, intriguing st...
Author: Toni Morrison | Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Grades: N/A
Release Date: February 12, 2019
NATIONAL BESTSELLER • Here is the Nobel Prize winner in her own words: a rich gathering of her most important essays and speeches, spanning four decades that "speaks to today’s social and political moment as directly as this morning’...
Author: Marlon James | Narrator: Dion Graham
Grades: N/A
Release Date: February 05, 2019
One of TIME’s 100 Best Fantasy Books of All TimeWinner of the L.A. Times Ray Bradbury Prize Finalist for the 2019 National Book Award The New York Times Bestseller Named a Best Book of 2019 by The Wall Street Journal, TIME, NPR, GQ, Vogue...
Author: Emily Bernard | Narrator: Emily Bernard
Grades: N/A
Release Date: January 29, 2019
“Blackness is an art, not a science. It is a paradox: intangible and visceral; a situation and a story. It is the thread that connects these essays, but its significance as an experience emerges randomly, unpredictably. . . . Race is the s...
Author: Glory Edim | Narrator: Glory Edim
Grades: N/A
Release Date: October 30, 2018
An inspiring collection of essays by black women writers, curated by the founder of the popular book club Well-Read Black Girl, on the importance of recognizing ourselves in literature. Remember that moment when you first encountered a character who ...
Author: Jacqueline Woodson | Narrator: Jacqueline Woodson, Jorjeana Marie and Guy Lockard
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: March 06, 2018
A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson--now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the authorJeremiah feels...
Author: Toni Morrison | Narrator: Toni Morrison
Grades: N/A
Release Date: November 14, 2017
"Rumors had been whispered for more than a year. Outrages that had been accumulating all along took shape as evidence. A mother was knocked down the stairs by her cold-eyed daughter. Four damaged infants were born in one family. Daughters refuse...
Author: Henry Louis Gates, Jr. | Narrator: Dominic Hoffman
Grades: N/A
Release Date: October 24, 2017
The first edition of Joel Augustus Rogers’s now legendary 100 Amazing Facts About the Negro with Complete Proof, published in 1957, was billed as “A Negro ‘Believe It or Not.’” Rogers’s little book was priceless be...
Author: Nic Stone | Narrator: Dion Graham
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: October 17, 2017
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • WILLIAM C. MORRIS AWARD FINALIST • ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE’S 100 BEST YA BOOKS OF ALL TIME   After a traffic stop turns violent at the hands of the police, a young Black teen grapples with racism&mdash...
Author: Ta-Nehisi Coates | Narrator: Beresford Bennett
Grades: N/A
Release Date: October 03, 2017
In this “urgently relevant”* collection featuring the landmark essay “The Case for Reparations,” the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me “reflects on race, Barack Obama&rsq...
Author: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie | Narrator: Zainab Jah
Grades: N/A
Release Date: September 19, 2017
From the award-winning, bestselling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists—a haunting story of love and war • Recipient of the Women’s Prize for Fiction “Winner of Winners” awardWith effortless grac...