Celebrate Black History Month with Audiobooks

Celebrate Black History Month with these powerful listens.

63 results   page 1 of 6   >
view sort by
Author: Anissa Gray | Narrator: Bahni Turpin, Dominic Hoffman, Adenrele Ojo and January LaVoy
Grades: N/A
Release Date: February 19, 2019
“If you enjoyed An American Marriage by Tayari Jones, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls...an absorbing commentary on love, family and forgiveness.”—The Washington Post  “A fast-paced, intriguing st...
Author: Toni Morrison | Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Grades: N/A
Release Date: February 12, 2019
Arguably the most celebrated and revered writer of our time now gives us a new nonfiction collection--a rich gathering of her essays, speeches, and meditations on society, culture, and art, spanning four decades.The Source of Self-Regard is brimming ...
Author: Marlon James | Narrator: Dion Graham
Grades: N/A
Release Date: February 05, 2019
FINALIST FOR THE 2019 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD The New York Times Bestseller Named a Best Book of 2019 by The Wall Street Journal, TIME, NPR, GQ, Vogue, and The Washington Post "A fantasy world as well-realized as anything Tolkien made." --Neil Gaiman ...
Author: Emily Bernard | Narrator: Emily Bernard
Grades: N/A
Release Date: January 29, 2019
WINNER OF THE CHRISTOPHER ISHERWOOD PRIZE FOR AUTOBIOGRAPHICAL PROSENAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY NPR AND KIRKUS REVIEWS In these twelve deeply personal, connected essays, Bernard details the experience of growing up black in the so...
Author: Glory Edim | Narrator: Glory Edim
Grades: N/A
Release Date: October 30, 2018
An inspiring collection of essays by black women writers, curated by the founder of the popular book club Well-Read Black Girl, on the importance of recognizing ourselves in literature. Remember that moment when you first encountered a character who ...
Author: Jacqueline Woodson | Narrator: Jacqueline Woodson, Jorjeana Marie and Guy Lockard
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: March 06, 2018
A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson--now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the authorJeremiah feels...
Author: Toni Morrison | Narrator: Toni Morrison
Grades: N/A
Release Date: November 14, 2017
"Rumors had been whispered for more than a year. Outrages that had been accumulating all along took shape as evidence. A mother was knocked down the stairs by her cold-eyed daughter. Four damaged infants were born in one family. Daughters refuse...
Author: Henry Louis Gates, Jr. | Narrator: Dominic Hoffman
Grades: N/A
Release Date: October 24, 2017
The first edition of Joel Augustus Rogers’s now legendary 100 Amazing Facts About the Negro with Complete Proof, published in 1957, was billed as “A Negro ‘Believe It or Not.’” Rogers’s little book was priceless be...
Author: Nic Stone | Narrator: Dion Graham
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: October 17, 2017
"Powerful, wrenching.” –JOHN GREEN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down"Raw and gripping." –JASON REYNOLDS, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys"A must-read!” &nd...
Author: Ta-Nehisi Coates | Narrator: Beresford Bennett
Grades: N/A
Release Date: October 03, 2017
In this “urgently relevant”* collection featuring the landmark essay “The Case for Reparations,” the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me “reflects on race, Barack Obama&rsq...
Author: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie | Narrator: Zainab Jah
Grades: N/A
Release Date: September 19, 2017
A haunting story of love and war from the best-selling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists.With effortless grace, celebrated author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie illuminates a seminal moment in modern African history: Biafra's i...
Author: Ernest J. Gaines | Narrator: Danny Campbell and JD Jackson
Grades: N/A
Release Date: August 29, 2017
A courthouse shooting leads a young reporter to uncover the long story of race and power in his small town and the relationship between the white sheriff and the black man who "whipped children" to keep order—in the final novella by the beloved...