Celebrate Black History Month with Audiobooks

Celebrate Black History Month with these powerful listens.

65 results   page 1 of 6   >
view sort by
cover_9781984846846
Author: Anissa Gray | Narrator: Bahni Turpin, Dominic Hoffman, Adenrele Ojo and January LaVoy
Grades: N/A
Release Date: February 19, 2019
“If you enjoyed An American Marriage by Tayari Jones, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls...an absorbing commentary on love, family and forgiveness.”—The Washington Post  “A fast-paced, intriguing st...
cover_9781984846846
cover_9781984840462
Author: Toni Morrison | Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Grades: N/A
Release Date: February 12, 2019
Arguably the most celebrated and revered writer of our time now gives us a new nonfiction collection--a rich gathering of her essays, speeches, and meditations on society, culture, and art, spanning four decades.The Source of Self-Regard is brimming ...
cover_9781984840462
cover_9780525526834
Author: Marlon James | Narrator: Dion Graham
Grades: N/A
Release Date: February 05, 2019
The New York Times Bestseller "A fantasy world as well-realized as anything Tolkien made." --Neil Gaiman "Gripping, action-packed....The literary equivalent of a Marvel Comics universe." --Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times The epic novel, an Af...
cover_9780525526834
cover_9781984839879
Author: Emily Bernard | Narrator: Emily Bernard
Grades: N/A
Release Date: January 29, 2019
An extraordinary, exquisitely written memoir (of sorts) that looks at race--in a fearless, penetrating, honest, true way--in twelve telltale, connected, deeply personal essays that explore, up-close, the complexities and paradoxes, the haunting memor...
cover_9781984839879
cover_9780525639558
Author: Glory Edim | Narrator: Glory Edim
Grades: N/A
Release Date: October 30, 2018
An inspiring collection of essays by black women writers, curated by the founder of the popular book club Well-Read Black Girl, on the importance of recognizing ourselves in literature. Remember that moment when you first encountered a character who ...
cover_9780525639558
cover_9780525637899
Author: Jacqueline Woodson | Narrator: Jacqueline Woodson, Jorjeana Marie and Guy Lockard
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: March 06, 2018
A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson--now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the authorJeremiah feels...
cover_9780525637899
cover_9780147520319
Author: Toni Morrison | Narrator: Toni Morrison
Grades: N/A
Release Date: November 14, 2017
"Rumors had been whispered for more than a year. Outrages that had been accumulating all along took shape as evidence. A mother was knocked down the stairs by her cold-eyed daughter. Four damaged infants were born in one family. Daughters refuse...
cover_9780147520319
cover_9781524755324
Author: Henry Louis Gates, Jr. | Narrator: Dominic Hoffman
Grades: N/A
Release Date: October 24, 2017
The first edition of Joel Augustus Rogers’s now legendary 100 Amazing Facts About the Negro with Complete Proof, published in 1957, was billed as “A Negro ‘Believe It or Not.’” Rogers’s little book was priceless be...
cover_9781524755324
cover_9781524782337
Author: Nic Stone | Narrator: Dion Graham
Grades: 9-12
Release Date: October 17, 2017
"Powerful, wrenching.” –JOHN GREEN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down"Raw and gripping." –JASON REYNOLDS, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys"A must-read!” &nd...
cover_9781524782337
cover_9780525494812
Author: Ta-Nehisi Coates | Narrator: Beresford Bennett
Grades: N/A
Release Date: October 03, 2017
In these “urgently relevant essays,”* the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me “reflects on race, Barack Obama’s presidency and its jarring aftermath”*—including the election of Dona...
cover_9780525494812
cover_9781524781705
Author: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie | Narrator: Zainab Jah
Grades: N/A
Release Date: September 19, 2017
A haunting story of love and war from “one of the world’s great contemporary writers” (Barack Obama), the best-selling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists.With effortless grace, celebrated author Chimamanda...
cover_9781524781705
cover_9780525587743
Author: Ernest J. Gaines | Narrator: Danny Campbell and JD Jackson
Grades: N/A
Release Date: August 29, 2017
Ernest J. Gaines's new novella revolves around a courthouse shooting that leads a young reporter to uncover the long story of race and power in his small town and the relationship between the white sheriff and the black man who "whipped children...
cover_9780525587743