Classroom Classics: Back-to-School Listening

From well-known stories to contemporary classics, integrating audiobooks into school reading can help students understand texts in new ways and discover stories they’ll remember for a lifetime.

Collection
103 results <   page 2 of 9   >
view sort by
Author: Pam Muñoz Ryan | Narrator: Trini Alvarado
Release Date: January 09, 2007
Esperanza Ortega possesses all the treasures a young girl could want: fancy dresses; a beautiful home filled with servants in the bountiful region of Aguascalientes, Mexico; and the promise of one day rising to Mama’s position and presiding ove...
Author: Jacqueline Woodson | Narrator: Jacqueline Woodson, Jorjeana Marie and Guy Lockard
Release Date: March 06, 2018
A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson--now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the authorJeremiah feels...
Author: Roald Dahl | Narrator: Kate Winslet
Release Date: July 03, 2013
“Roald Dahl sometimes shared a tonal kinship with Ogden Nash, and he could demonstrate a verbal inventiveness nearly Seussian…[His] stories work better in audio than in print.” –The New York Times“The Trunchbull” ...
Author: Louisa May Alcott | Narrator: Christina Ricci
Release Date: October 23, 2012
This timeless classic is now an easy-to-read chapter book!The four March sisters--Meg, Amy, Beth, and feisty Jo--share the joys and sorrows of growing up while their father is away at war. The family is poor in worldly goods, but rich in love and cha...
Author: Madeleine L'Engle | Narrator: Hope Davis
Release Date: January 10, 2012
Madeleine L'Engle's ground-breaking science fiction and fantasy classic, now a major motion picture. This audiobook includes an introduction read by the film director Ava DuVernay, a foreword read by the author, and an afterword read by Madeleine L&r...
Author: Tonke Dragt | Narrator: Matt Addis
Release Date: May 14, 2019
SOON TO BE A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIESA young messenger. A secret mission. A kingdom in peril.It is the dead of night. Sixteen-year-old Tiuri must spend hours locked in a chapel in silent contemplation if he is to be knighted the next day. But, as he w...
Author: Judy Blume | Narrator: Judy Blume
Release Date: March 27, 2007
Living with his little brother, Fudge, makes Peter Hatcher feel like a fourth grade nothing. Whether Fudge is throwing a temper tantrum in a shoe store, smearing smashed potatoes on walls at Hamburger Heaven, or scribbling all over Peter's homework, ...
Author: Laurie Halse Anderson | Narrator: Laurie Halse Anderson, Mandy Siegfried, Jason Reynolds and Ashley C. Ford
Release Date: January 09, 2007
"Speak up for yourself―we want to know what you have to say." From the first moment of her freshman year at Merryweather High, Melinda knows this is a big fat lie, part of the nonsense of high school. She is friendless, outcast, because she bus...
Author: Norton Juster | Narrator: Norton Juster and Rainn Wilson
Release Date: March 19, 2019
Hailed as "a classic. . . . humorous, full of warmth and real invention" (The New Yorker), this beloved story--first published more than fifty ago--introduces readers to Milo and his adventures in the Lands Beyond. For Milo, everything's a bore. When...
Author: Lois Lowry | Narrator: Ron Rifkin
Release Date: July 05, 2000
Lois Lowry’s The Giver is the quintessential dystopian novel, followed by its remarkable companions, Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son.Jonas's world is perfect. Everything is under control. There is no war or fear of pain. There are no choices...
Author: Don Freeman | Narrator: Viola Davis
Release Date: September 04, 2018
Don Freeman's classic character, Corduroy, is even more popular today then he was when he first came on the scene in 1968. This story of a small teddy bear waiting on a department store shelf for a child's friendship has appealed to young readers gen...
Author: Jean Craighead George | Narrator: Michael Crouch
Release Date: December 05, 2017
"Should appeal to all rugged individualists who dream of escape to the forest."—The New York Times Book Review Sam Gribley is terribly unhappy living in New York City with his family, so he runs away to the Catskill Mountains to live in the woo...