Picture Books on Audio that Amplify Black Voices

Snuggle up with little listeners and press play on audio picture books that delight and empower, written and read by Black authors and narrators. Looking for more audiobook recommendations that center on Black authors, narrators, and narratives? Visit the Penguin Random House Audio Amplify Black Voices page.

Collection
18 results   page 1 of 2   >
view sort by
Author: Tricia Elam Walker | Narrator: Justin Nicholas-Elam Ruff
Release Date: November 16, 2021
Caldecott Honor, three time Coretta Scott King Award winner, and New York Times bestselling illustrator and her author cousin pay gorgeous homage to the street they grew up on and the loving community that made their childhood special.Welcome to Drea...
$5
ISBN: 9780593554869
Unabridged Download
Author: Traci Todd | Narrator: Jade Wheeler
Release Date: September 28, 2021
This illuminating and defining picture book biography, adapted for audio, tells the story of little Eunice who grew up to become the acclaimed singer Nina Simone and her bold, defiant, and exultant legacy.Born Eunice Kathleen Waymon in small town Nor...
$5
ISBN: 9780593459881
Unabridged Download
Change Sings Cover
Author: Amanda Gorman | Narrator: Amanda Gorman
Release Date: September 21, 2021
A lyrical audiobook from presidential inaugural poet Amanda Gorman and #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator Loren Long   "I can hear change humming In its loudest, proudest song. I don't fear change coming, And so I sing along."   In t...
$5
ISBN: 9780593455227
Unabridged Download
Change Sings Cover
Author: Vanessa Brantley-Newton | Narrator: Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Release Date: June 15, 2021
Get ready to go back to school with this inclusive, empathetic story that will help kids new to the classroom transform from timid caterpillars into beautiful butterflies who love exactly who they are! On Vanessa's first day of school, her pare...
Author: Vanessa Brantley-Newton | Narrator: Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Release Date: June 15, 2021
Spend the day with a grandma and granddaughter in this charming picture book, adapted for audio, about the magic found in their favorite accessory—a perfect gift this Mother's Day! When Grandma Mimi comes to visit, she always brings warm h...
Author: Vanessa Brantley-Newton | Narrator: Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Release Date: June 15, 2021
An ode to the girl with scrapes on her knees and flowers in her hair, and every girl in between, this exquisite treasury will appeal to readers of Dear Girl and I Am Enough and have kids poring over it to find a poem that's just for them.I am a canva...
Author: Lupita Nyong'o | Narrator: Lupita Nyong'o
Release Date: February 23, 2021
A New York Times bestseller! Recipient of a Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Award Recipient of an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Children’s Literary Work From Academy Award–winning actress Lupita Nyong’o comes a po...
Author: Lil Nas X | Narrator: Lil Nas X
Release Date: January 05, 2021
Parents who play Grammy winner Lil Nas X's 12-times platinum single Old Town Road on repeat will want to take their kids and ride on over to this audiobook written and narrated by the music mega-star!   A is for adventure. Every day is...
Author: Zulekha Holder-Young and Alissa Holder | Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Release Date: December 29, 2020
Based on a viral video comes the story of one boy's positive energy and how a sunny outlook can turn everything around.It's a new day and Ayaan has woken up on the wrong side of the bed, where nothing feels quite right. What if he doesn't know the an...
$5
ISBN: 9780593400883
Unabridged Download
Author: DeShanna Neal and Trinity Neal | Narrator: Robin Miles
Release Date: October 20, 2020
A dedicated mom puts love into action as she creates the perfect rainbow-colored wig for her transgender daughter, based on the real-life experience of mother-daughter advocate duo Trinity and DeShanna Neal.Warm morning sunlight and love fill the Nea...
$5
ISBN: 9780593294802
Unabridged Download
Author: Misty Copeland | Narrator: Misty Copeland
Release Date: September 29, 2020
The first in a series of books inspired by premier ballerina and author Misty Copeland's own early experiences in ballet.From prima ballerina and New York Times bestselling author Misty Copeland comes the story of a young Misty, who discove...
Author: Misty Copeland | Narrator: Misty Copeland
Release Date: September 29, 2020
In her debut book, Misty Copeland tells the story of a young girl--an every girl--whose confidence is fragile and who is questioning her own ability to reach the heights that Misty has reached. Misty encourages this young girl's faith in herself and ...